HOME DATABASES
Quick Links
Programs
Online Databases
Business
Computers
E-Books
Health Resources
Law
Library Catalogs
Literature & Reading
Magazine Articles
Newspaper Articles
Practice Tests
Student Corner
Community Organizations
 
Circulating Collections Info
Audio-Visual Materials
Books
Electronic Books
Newspaper Index
Magazines
Research Resources
 
Online Catalog
Audio Books
Musical Sound Recordings
Videos
DVDs
Software
 

 

The Bay County Library System

Online Databases

You need to have a valid Bay County Library System library card to access many (but not all) of the links listed on this page. (NOTE: If you do not have a library card, you may access those databases using your Michigan driver's license or Michigan state ID number by visiting the database login page of the Library of Michigan website.) To connect, click on the link below for the database you wish to access. For those databases requiring a library card, you will be taken to a screen where you will be asked to key in the barcode number from your card. Do NOT key in the letters "A" and "B" that may appear at the beginning and end of your library card number. From there, you should be connected to the database you selected. If you encounter any problems getting connected, please send us an email with as detailed a description as possible.

An asterisk (*) indicates that the database described is made available to libraries and residents of the State of Michigan through the AccessMichigan project. Click on one of these general topics for a list of resources available:
 

Arts & Humanities Health Resources Newspaper Articles
Auto Repair Investments Practice Tests
Business Law Reference
Computers Library Catalogs Student Corner
Electronic Books Literature & Reading
Genealogy Magazine Articles

Please note that a few of the databases available within our branch libraries are, by contract with the vendor, not available from your computer at home or work; thus they are not listed on this page.


Arts and Humanities Top of Page
SIRS Renaissance
Dynamic information on: Architecture and design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, and visual arts.

Auto Repair Top of Page
Chilton's
ChiltonLibrary.com offers the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. Covers the most popular vehicles of the last 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.

Business Top of Page
Business and Company Resource Center
Recommended for: General users and professionals. Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports,,company histories, chronologies, and perioicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only.
Reference USA
Provides two databases: 1) A Business Database with directory information for 12 million U.S. businesses including : business name, address, phone number, number of employees range, sales volume range, subsidieries, key executive, a "credit rating code", ticker symbol, primary SIC code, etc. Searchable by any of these "fields"; and 2)  a Residential Database with 120 million U.S. households.

Computers Top of Page
Computer Database
1980-Current
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

E-Books Top of Page
Net Library
(This link will take you to our website's "NetLibrary" page, with more info and a link to NetLibrary.)
NetLibrary provides libraries and their patrons anytime, anywhere access to a comprehensive collection of reference, scholarly, and professional electronic books and information that can be viewed, searched, and checked out via the Internet. This resource requires free registration to use. Come into the library to register and then the resource can be used from home. 

Genealogy Top of Page

Heritage Quest Online

Search:

  • U. S. Federal Census images from 1790-1930
  • Books (over 22,000 family and local histories)
  • Persi (1.9 million geneology and local history articles)
  • Revolutionary War (selected records from the Revolutionary War Era Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files)
  • Freedman's Bank (1865-1874; founded to serve African Americans)
  • U. S. Serial Set (memorials, petitions, and private relief actions of the U. S. Congress


Health Resources Top of Page

CINAHL
1980 - Current
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only. 

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module
1980 - Current
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only. 

Health Reference Center-Academic
1997 - Current 
Academic edition is geared for medical students and professionals. Use this database to find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module
1980 - Current
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only. 

Health Reference Center-Academic
1997 - Current 
Academic edition is geared for medical students and professionals. Use this database to find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Investments Top of Page
Value Line
The Value Line Research Center includes on-line access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible secutities as well as special situation stocks.

Law Top of Page
LegalTrac
1980 - Aug 2003
Use this database to find articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. Included are articles on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Regulations, Legal Practice, and Taxation. Also included are: British Commonwealth, European Union and International Law.

Library Catalogs Top of Page
iPac: Bay County Library System's Online Catalog
(This link will take you to our website's catalog page with more information and a link to iPac.)
Our online catalog is provided through our membership in the Valley Library Consortium. It lists the holdings (books, compact discs, videos, magazines, CD-ROMs, etc.) of 62 different libraries throughout the Thumb, Tri-Cities, and points North.
Melvin J. Zahnow Library, Saginaw Valley State University
Search the catalog of our area's state university library, SVSU.
WorldCat: from OCLC FirstSearch
(This link will take you to the FirstSearch main page. Click on the "World Cat" link to go directly to the catalog.)
WorldCat is a database listing the holdings of  thousands of libraries around the country and the world. It's a great source for tracking down older or more obscure titles.

Literature & Reading Top of Page
NoveList: Your Guide to Fiction
This online service is a great resource for readers. It allows you to use a favorite author or title as a "template" to locate other books of interest. You can browse through theme-oriented book lists, look for outstanding titles in Best Fiction, or learn more about books and authors through Author Read-alikes, Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks. NoveList contains materials for all ages including picture books, children's "chapter books", teen titles, and books for adult readers. NoveList is updated monthly.

Magazine Articles Top of Page
General Reference Center Gold
1980-Current
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
InfoTrac OneFile
1980-Current
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Academic OneFile
Recommended for colleges and universities. Peer-reviewed full text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medecine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Educator's Reference Complete
Recommended for educators and parents. Select from more than 450 full text academic journals,hundreds of full text reports, and many premiere reference sources.
Informe
Recommended for Spanish language resources.
bigchalk elibrary elementary
Search through full-text newspapers, magazines, international newswires, classic books, maps, photographs, as well as major works of literature and art.
OCLC First Search (Academic Articles)
Provides access to numerous scholarly indexes (e.g., ERIC, for indexing of resources in education, MEDLINE, for indexing of medical resources, etc.); also provides access to "Wilson Select", with indexing and full-text from many general interest magazines. Also provides access to "WorldCat", a catalog of holdlings of thousands of libraries; articles from World Almanac; and many other resources.
SIRS Discoverer
(World Almanac for Kids, Funk and Wagnall's Encyclopedia, Topic of the Month)
An award-winning database designed with the younger researcher in mind. This database is an interactive tool that strengthens research, reading, writing and computer skills. Because it includes middle and elementary curriculum topics, Discoverer can be easily integrated into classroom activities.

Newspaper Articles Top of Page
Bay City Times
September 10, 2004 - Current
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people, and much more from current and archived issues of the Bay City Times. Updated daily, it includes death notices, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections.

Local Newspaper Index
The online local newspaper index covers The Bay City Times, 1996 - 2000, and The Saginaw News, which are selectively indexed for local content. Note that this database provides an index only. It does not provide the full text of articles.

Michigan Newspapers
From NewsBank, Inc.: Articles from The Detroit News, Grand Rapids Press, and Lansing State Journal and The Bay City Times. Each paper provides coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
New York Times
1995 - current; full text.
InfoTrac Custom 150 Full Text Newspapers
A collection of newspapers from around the country and the world including The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times,  The Christian Science Monitor, and The Times (London).

Reference Top of Page
Gale Virtual Reference Library
For general users. A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Practice Tests Top of Page
Learn A Test
Use this resource to begin preparing for any of a number of school and career exams. Practice with tests based on such exams as the ACT, SAT, GED, GRE, ASVAB, Civil Service, Firefighter, Police Officer, Paramedic, EMT Basic, U. S. Citizenship, Postal Worker, Cosmetology, Real Estate Agent and Broker Exams. Review courses and testing for English as a second language as well as reading, writing, math, and grammar skills. You get immediate scoring and detailed explanations of answers to all questions.

Student Corner Top of Page
Kids InfoBits
Kids InfoBits meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. 
Infotrac Junior Edition
1980 - Current 
This periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Infotrac Student Edition
1980 - Current 
This database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
bigchalk elibrary elementary
Search through full-text newspapers, magazines, international newswires, classic books, maps, photographs, as well as major works of literature and art. 
SIRS Discoverer
(World Almanac for Kids, Funk and Wagnall's Encyclopedia, Topic of the Month)
An award-winning database designed with the younger researcher in mind. This database is an interactive tool that strengthens research, reading, writing and computer skills. Because it includes middle and elementary curriculum topics, Discoverer can be easily integrated into classroom activities.
World Book Online
World Book Online contains every article from the 22 volume print encyclopedia, plus thousands more with state-of-the-art multimedia, maps and links to editor reviewed web sites.

Online Catalog


Calendar of Events

UPCOMING EVENTS



© Bay County Library System, All Rights Reserved              Privacy Policy            Terms of Use            Accessibility

Site Design by Bay Imaging and Technology Services, LLC
www.gone2bits.com